To the Setting of the Sun

P1010587

 

From the rising of the sun to its going down The Lord’s name is to be praised Psalm 113:3

The funny thing about sunsets is that they look a lot like sunrises. In this Psalm, David reminds us that, though the day has passed and many things have happened between morning light and sunset, one thing remains: God’s name is to be praised.

In my own life as I grow closer to sunset it sometimes I feel that the important things are in the past. I begin to think that nothing new or significant can still be ahead. But God’s word points to God’s never changing nature. No matter whether my alarm clock has just gone off or if the lengthening rays of sunset are approaching, there is still time to praise the Lord! He will be praised in my frailty as much as in my strength. He will be praised in my quiet days as much as in my busy ones. He will be praised when everyone applauds my first steps as well as when it is difficult to take the next one. God is ever constant, never changing, always faithful and always lovingly at my side.

The name of the Lord is now more than ever to be praised!

Author: pastorpete51

My wife and I serve as members of a worship team at a multicultural church. Our members are from Brazil, Nepal and the U.S.. Because of the many languages and cultures in our local body we face unique challenges, such as how many songs will we do in English today? What new songs can we use in either language that are simple enough for the people to sing. The songs, the devotions and insights here are a small portion of some of the ways God is leading us as we push towards the goal. I pray that these will be both a blessing and an encouragement for those of you who may pass by Praise 2 Worship.

2 thoughts on “To the Setting of the Sun”

Leave a Reply

