Why Should I Feel Discouraged?

August 28 2008 055 Why should I feel discouraged,
Why should the shadows come,
Why should my heart be lonely,
And long for heaven, heaven and home,
When, when Jesus is my portion,
My constant Friend is He;
Oh, oh-oh, his eye is on the sparrow,
And I know He watches, watches it over me.

His Eye is on the Sparrow by Lauren Hill

” I had felt frustrated by the small number of people that came to our little service. It seemed like I was just rushing in, doing my duty and then going home when God chose one afternoon to change my muddy attitude. I was passing around shaking hands saying,” God bless you” to everyone when one woman slipped something into my hand. I opened up my palm and discovered two shiny quarters which she had given me. “No I can’t take this’” I protested. She just smiled widely and said “You keep those; there are lots more where they came from!”

I was instantly reminded of the widow’s two mites in the Bible story. Remember that Jesus said that the widow, “put in more than all these…” When God sends us the widow’s mites he is putting into our hands of what he values most. I would not at all be surprised if some of the people standing near Jesus might have laughed. Those pitiful worn out copper coins were nothing to compare to the golden shower being poured in by the rich. But that day God may gave me a golden shower of laughter to lift my spirit. In that moment a light clicked on in my heart reminding me of the preciousness of that woman in God’s eyes.”

Author: pastorpete51

My wife and I serve as members of a worship team at a multicultural church. Our members are from Brazil, Nepal and the U.S.. Because of the many languages and cultures in our local body we face unique challenges, such as how many songs will we do in English today? What new songs can we use in either language that are simple enough for the people to sing. The songs, the devotions and insights here are a small portion of some of the ways God is leading us as we push towards the goal. I pray that these will be both a blessing and an encouragement for those of you who may pass by Praise 2 Worship.

One thought on “Why Should I Feel Discouraged?”

Leave a Reply

